Episode 1: Pilot

Pilot episodes are usually not the greatest. Pilots (unless the network is brave) tend to be exposition heavy – lots of telling rather than showing.  So they can be clunky – characters are introduced by someone calling them by their full name, or explaining to another character who the person of interest is, in full detail.

So, allow me to exposit. I am a TV aficianado. When I was a kid, we had 4 channels on a clear day: NBC (channel 30), ABC (channel 8), CBS (channel 3) and PBS (channel 24). On weekdays, we were allowed to watch PBS: Sesame Street, Mister Roger’s Neighborhood, The Electric Company, sometimes Zoom.  They were educational, for sure: from Mister Roger’s Neighborhood, I learned about empathy; from The Electric Company, I learned when to use an apostrophe S (with apostrophe S, you don’t have to guess, you know it belongs to me); Sesame Street had muppets, so nothing bad there.

The day we got cable (sometime in 1984), I got to stay home from school to let the installer in, and as soon as he was gone, I put on HBO (I fell in love with Matt Dillon that day in Tex, and I couldn’t even tell you what the movie was about); then we put it on MTV and gorged.

We’ve come a long, long way since the 80’s and the traditional sitcom filmed in front of a live audience. HBO, Showtime, AMC, IFC, Netflix, Hulu, Amazon….we have a multitude of options for TV watching, and the level of excellence is high. Truly, it is the golden age of television!

While there a lot of sites that talk about popular TV shows, but my preference in TV shows tends toward the critically acclaimed but struggling for ratings or cancelled too soon. I love sketch comedy (but not SNL) and shows about competitive dancing that do not feature celebrity contestants. Teen soap operas, I’m there. Supernatural teen soap operas….HELL YES. Shows where people break into song  (that aren’t Glee or The Voice or American Idol)? Absolutely. I will be talking about all these shows, and maybe some movies and books, too. Thus ends the exposition!

P.S. I’m writing this on Chromebook so I can’t change the picture. I will do better.

 

 

Leave a Reply

