Brooklyn 99 is Dead, Long Live Brooklyn 99

I was super bummed for about 12 hours when I found out Fox was cancelling Brooklyn 99, and I decided to start re-watching the show from the beginning.

What a great show.

I’m a fan of the sitcom, in general, but there is a level of quality in Brooklyn 99 that many sitcoms don’t ever reach, let alone sustain. It has character growth and development of relationships, it sometimes deals with serious issues (could do more on that front), but most of all, it is consistently funny while having everyone stay in character…mostly.

(My quibble is with the bachelor party episode which recently aired, because Jake is great at solving things, so it was slightly out of character for him to quit so soon).

Things I noticed while binge-watching:
* Charles is consistently a fan of erotic hair washing
* Terry loves yogurt
* There is a time to use “who” and a time to use “whom” and both Holt and Amy will tell you when you’re doing it wrong.

Leave a comment